top of page

Philippines Extends Travel Ban On UAE, 6 Other Countries Until June 30

The travel ban of the Philippines on UAE and six other countries has been extended from June 16 until June 30. The extension of the travel ban covers India, Pakistan, Nepal, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Oman, and the UAE.

This is the third time the Philippines imposed travel restrictions on the seven countries.

The renewed ban was imposed to prevent the spread of the B1617 ‘double mutant’ variant of the Covid-19 first discovered in India.

During the briefing of President Rodrigo Duterte on Monday, June 14, several Filipinos in the UAE were urging him to lift the ban on UAE.

“Mahiya naman kayo dito sa UAE halos lahat na naka-vaccine, mas madami pa nga active diyan sa Pinas at araw-araw ang dami positive. Bulok na patakaran ninyo. Walang awa,” one Filipina from UAE commented.

Meanwhile, Philippine Airlines (PAL) said that due to the recent announcement regarding the extension of the travel ban of passengers coming from the UAE, they have decided to cancel flights PR658/659 Manila to Dubai to Manila until June 30.

Passengers whose flights have been affected have three options:

1. Convert your ticket to a Travel Voucher valid for up to 2 years.

2. Unlimited rebooking (no rebooking fee) until 31 December 2021, subject to fare difference.

3. Refund ticket without penalties from the airline. Travel agency service fee may apply.


bottom of page