top of page

Philippines’ Travel Ban On Passengers From UAE Extended Until August 1

The travel restrictions from the UAE to the Philippines have been extended until Sunday, August 1. UAE is included on a list of seven countries currently excluded to fly to the Philippines, alongside India, Pakistan, Nepal, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, and Oman.

This is the fifth time that the Philippine government extended the travel ban on passengers from these countries. The travel from these destinations has been temporarily suspended since last April. Meanwhile, the Philippines announced a flight ban on passengers from UAE on May 15.

Travelers who have transited through the UAE or any of the other countries 14 days prior to their arrival to the Philippines will also be denied entry.

Meanwhile, following the extension of travel restrictions, Cebu Pacific, Philippine Airlines (PAL), and Emirates have announced flight cancellations to the Philippines until July 31.

Cebu Pacific canceled the following flights:

– 5J 14 (Manila- Dubai) from July 18 to 31, 2021;

– 5J 17 (Dubai – Manila) from July 17 to August 1, 2021 and;

– 5J 19 (Dubai – Manila) from July 20 to August 1, 2021

On PAL’s website, it wrote that the airline has canceled flights from Dubai to Manila and vice versa as ‘Philippine Government ban on travel from the UAE is extended, thus no flights during this period’.

Meanwhile, Emirates has released a statement after it received a huge volume of calls not just from Filipinos but with other affected flights as well.

“If your flight has been canceled or impacted by route suspensions due to COVID‑19 restrictions, you don’t need to call us immediately for rebooking. You can simply hold on to your Emirates ticket and when flights resume, get in touch with us, or your booking office to make new travel plans,” the statement read.


bottom of page